No fewer than twenty (20) Academic Staff of the University of Jos have been promoted to the rank of Professor in different fields, a statement by the institution’s Deputy Registrar, Information and Publications, Abdullahi Abdullahi has indicated.

According to the statement, “the promotion took effect from 1st October, 2018 and is the outcome of the institution’s recent promotion exercise as approved by its Appointment and Promotion Committee (Senior Staff) chaired by the Vice Chancellor, Professor Seddi Sebastian Maimako”.

It added that “the Academic Staff promoted to the rank of Professor are Dr. (Mrs.) Julie Orshi from the Department of General and Applied Psychology; Dr. Solomon Abiye Olatunji, Department of Geology; Dr. Sati Yohana Chanle, Department of Architecture; Dr. Ozoilo Kenneth Nmato, Department of Surgery; Dr. Ngulaka Ndidi Chinyelu, Department of Pharmaceutical Technology; Dr.  Habila Elisha Zuya, Department of Science and Technology Education; Dr. Jennifer Drambi Audu-Peter, Department of Pharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Technology; Dr. Ojo Emmanuel Olurundare, Department of Surgery and Dr. Dauda Ayaba Madachi, Department of Pathology.

“Others include Dr. Itelima Janet Uchechukwu, Department of Plant Science and Biotechnology; Dr. Bot Thomas David, Department of Science and Technology Education; Dr. Absolom Keziah Vou, Department of Zoology; Dr. Ishaya Chuwang  Pam, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology; Dr.Dzikwi Eme Asabe, Department of Veterinary Public Health and Preventive Medicine; Dr. Ismaila Bashiru Omeiza, Department of Surgery. Also promoted to the rank of Professor are; Dr. Akkaaren Samuel Shakaa, Department of Private Law; Dr. James Damen Garba, Department of Medical Laboratory Science; Dr. Ocheke Ngozi Amaka, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and Dr. Emmanuel Stephen Mador, Department of Human Anatomy.

Similarly the University’s Appointments and Promotion Committee (Senior Staff) has approved the appointment of Thirty (30) Academic Staff from the rank of Senior Lecturer to Readers (Associate Professor) in the University with effect from 1st October, 2018.

Categories: News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *