From  AMEDU JOSEPH, Lokoja

No fewer than 16,059 farmers across  the nine local government areas of kogi state will benefit from fertilizer distribution under the Federal Government’s Emergency Agricultural Intervention Fund ( EAIF).

The National Emergency Management Agency ( NEMA) disclosed that the beneficiaries are farmers that lost their farmlands to the 2018 flood in Kogi State.

A statement  by NEMA which was made available to journalists in Lokoja said that the exercise was flagged off in Kogi Local Government area of the state by the Commissioner for Agriculture, Mr Kehinde Oloruntoba.

The statement which was signed by Mr Oluwatope Ajayi, the agency’s Team Leader for EAIF in the state said that the exercise is being carried out under the Federal Government’s Emergency Agricultural Intervention Fund ( EAIF).

Ajayi said that each of the farmers will receive between five to nine bags of NPK fertilizers, depending on the acreage of their farms.

The Team Leader however, said that only rice, cassava, maize , yam, sesame seeds , soya beans farmers will benefit from the free fertilizer distribution scheme.

“This is a follow up to the seeds, agro-chemicals, sprayers and other agricultural inputs distributed earlier free of charge to the farmers,” Ajayi said in the statement.

He added that the intervention by NEMA was in line with the directive of the National Food Security Council, under the chairmanship of President Muhammadu Buhari.

Ajayi said the distribution exercise will cover the affected farmers that have been profiled in eight other local governments of Ibaji, Lokoja, Idah, Bassa, Ajaokuta, Ofu, Igalamela and Omala .

Categories: News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *