The All Progressive Congress, APC has won twenty two chairmanship position leaving Peoples Democratic Party PDP with one local government as a two local government are still pending.

The Chairman of the Niger State Independent Electoral Commission, NSIEC, Alhaji Aminu Baba had while announcing the results, said that nine political parties participated in the just concluded local government elections.

He further disclosed that, 85 candidates participated in the chairmanship while 661 councillorship candidates also participated all in the 25 local government areas of the state.

Baba also said that, Mashegu and Tara local governments were still pending while six wards were declared inconclusive.

He however appreciated the peaceful conduct of the people throughout the exercise most especially security agencies and the media for ensuring the violent free polls.

The following local governments were won by the APC, Bosso, Bida, Magama, Kontagora, Rafi, Suleja, Paikoro, Shiroro, Wushishi, Rijau, Edati, Katcha, Mokwa, Agaie, Mariga, Lavun, Lapai, Gurara, Munya, Agwara, Borgu, Chanchaga, while Gbako local government was won by the PDP.



Categories: Politics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *