From Mohammed Abdullahi, Keffi

The  Eggon Youth Movement (EYM), Kokona chapter,in  Nasarawa State,has inaugurated its newly elected officials, to run its activities for the next four years.

They are Comrade Daniel Akpavan-Chairman, Bulus Peter Nangba, Vice Chairman; Angbo Daniel, Secretary; Abari Wambai, Treasurer; Tsaku Solomon Abimiku, Financial Secretary;Assistant Secretary is Jatau Thomas,

Public Relations Offcer I- Bitrus Abimiku Alaku, Public Relations Officer II-Solomon Kassa,Yakubu Umbugadu Auditor I; Zakka Silas, Auditor II; Abimiku Gambo, Social Director/Culture and Amos Stephen as Provost.

Speaking in Garaku-headquaters of Kokona LGA, Mr Daniel Akpavan, the new Chairman of the association said it will partner with security agencies  to achieve permanent peace and security among Eggon people and their neighbours in the state.

He stated that since the importance of peace to societal development could not be overemphasised, hence the need for the partnership with security agencies and other stakeholders in that direction.

Akpavan assured that the association would encourage its members and other Nigerians in various ways to embrace education, considering its importance to national development.

“The focus of my administration will be on peace and unity of Eggon people and also on fostering peaceful co-existence among other tribes, as unity is sacrosanct and the education of our youths will be encouraged, while skill acquisition will also be given adequate attention to enable our youths to be self-reliant as this will go a long way in improving their standard of living as well as bringing peace, not only to Eggon nation, but the state and the country at large,” he said.

The chairman, who promised to complete the ongoing secretariat of the association among other projects, solicited for support and prayers from all and sundry to enable him succeed.

While administering the oath of allegiance on the new executive members, the Commissioner for Oath, Mr Ayiwulu Baba, charged them to abide by the oath which they had sworn to in the interest of the association and its members.

Baba, who was represented by Mr Daniel Afakpo, also urged them to live above board in the running of the association.

Also speaking, Hon Gaza Jonathan Gbefwi, member representing Karu\Keffi/Kokona Federal Constituency who holds a traditional title of Atari Moa Eggon assured the new officials of his support to the association to enable them succeed.

Jonathan Gbefwi, who was represented by his Special Assistant and former Deputy Chairman Kokona Local Government council, Hon Monday Akpu restated his continued commitment to key into  peoples oriented projects that will better the lives of his constituents and Nigerians at large.

The immediate past Chairman of the association, Mr David Umbugadu, pledged his unflinching support and cooperation to his successor and his team in order to take the association to greater heights.

In their goodwill messages, a member of the state House of Assembly, Hon Danladi Jatau (PDP-Kokona West) and the National President of EYM, Mr Daniel Anyuabaga, urged the new officials to discharge their duties without fear or favour.

They assured the new executives of their support to enable them succeed in their assignment.


Categories: Politics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *